5 Things I’ve learnt since becoming a #blogger (2 Min Read)

Hey my lovelies!

Blogging is a funny thing, I don’t know what I expected when I started this journey but all I know is im here now with a fantastic, loyal bunch of followers and a thriving blog. Would you believe I didn’t even really know what a blog was when I started! I downloaded an app and started writing…..so here’s a few things I’ve learnt since I started.

1I know nothing about blogging! 

Honestly, I wish I took a course before I started this. I have no idea how to run my blog and I truly blog and edit photos all on my phone because the desktop version intimidates me. Ha! I’ve admitted it! Mommyrosebuds is solely run on my Samsung Galaxy in my bed! 

2. WordPress is used by Millions.

    Like I said guys, I knew nothing, so it always shocked me when I would pop on here to see hundreds of new blogs to start reading and following. I’ve seen many blogs come and go over the past year. It always seems to be the most entertaining ones that go the quickest! Please come back xx

    3U get out what you put in.

    If you want people to read your blog and follow you,  you must make the effort to read theirs, comment and interact. I’ve found that my blog is more successful when I actually go out of my way to look for new content, read the blogs and comment on the posts, and genuinely mean what I say. 

    4.Consistency is key to running a successful blog 

    Believe it or not, but my blog generates much more traffic if I blog every other day, readers get use to seeing my name and naturally LIKE my posts. BUT! This doesn’t mean they are actually reading my posts. I have learnt that for my blog, I would rather blog once a week with good material and allow the post views to generate as much as the LIKES. I’ve realised Im far more interested in having an entertaining blog post once a week as opposed to obtaining many likes but a lack in views. Afterall, majority of those who blog, blog with the intension of having their posts read and enjoyed by all. 

    5. This could actually be a career

    Now, guys could you imagine how amazing it would be to go along to Blog Awards, write sponsored posts, review parenting things and actually earn an income? I know for a fact that this would be an amazing opportunity for the kids and I. In all honesty I really do need to put myself out there a bit more, not so much to generate an income but because I genuinely love blogging and would love doing it full time whilst I look after the Rosebud kids from the comfort of my home. 

    So guys that’s just a few things I have learnt since blindly writing my way into this blogging world! Please LIKE, COMMENT and of course FOLLOW for more post from the Rosebuds. 

    I would love to know some of the other things my fellow bloggers have learnt since they started blogging and if it was anything like you imagined?

    Don’t forget to follow me on social media! 

    Instagram
    Twitter

    11 Comments Add yours

    1. Elizabeth says:

      I was surprised when I began that people were pushing “like” without reading the entry. That wasn’t why I was writing. I have learned that I prefer a few followers who are actually reading me and we can engage in back and forth commenting. Then I feel connected which is why I write at all. Otherwise, I might as well just keep a private diary. I think your idea of working from home and making some money sounds intriguing. Keep us posted.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Yes it really surprised me too that the stats didn’t match up with the likes. Funny thing this blogging. Well working from home intrigues me to, but I wouldn’t have a clue how to do it! Looool 😂

        Like

    2. Azra says:

      Consistency is truly a key. I learned that after a long time, I wish I did it sooner. xx

      https://simpleserenity.wordpress.com

      Liked by 1 person

    3. Hey girl! 👋 desktop versions of editing programs intimidate me too haha! I’m running everything solely on an iPhone 5s At the moment 😅 but it’s all good! The blogging community is so friendly and I truly enjoy being a part of it too. I agree with you on the point that the week I spend a lot of time on “reader” genuinely interested in people’s blogs and communicating with them is the week I get more traffic to my own blog! Another very important thing I learnt about blogging is not to over-do it on the tags! I used to tag all kinds of random stuff on my posts at the start, but since 2017 I have refined my blog, cleared out some categories and just made it simple, straightforward and it’s been the best decision! I’ve also recently joined Twitter and I’ve learnt in my couple days on Twitter that it’s SO helpful. Any question I have so many bloggers help me with them so that’s been great! 💋 enjoyed reading your post xx

      https://thetypicalbeautyblog.wordpress.com

      Like

    4. mummyest2014 says:

      I’m very similar to you. I just jumped in not knowing anything. I do all my blogging from my iPhone. I learn something new pretty much everyday as I get braver pressing buttons haha x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know that feeling. The amount of times I have blogged unfinished posts by accident
        Is a joke! Thanks for stopping by Hun x

        Liked by 1 person

    5. Barbara says:

      Excellent post. It is definitely a shared experience. It took me a long time to work out how to run a blog too. I love writing and sharing things on my blog but I tend to agree that getting the balance right is difficult. I don’t post too often and I don’t like to see too many posts from the same person appearing each day. That is when I tend to skip past and go onto the next person, however, I do try to read something from everyone who posts.

      Liked by 1 person

    6. Jason Luna says:

      Oh my goodness! S A M E. Cheers! I remember when I first started. I didn’t knew almost everything and I felt very frustrated. It’s nice to meet people who shares the same interests as you. Thank you so much for sharing, hehe. Your blog and this blog post is really motivating. Also, thank you so much for following back. Let’s connect. 🙂 ❤ Have a nice day.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you Jason! Keep in touch you have a great blog 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    7. Nice read! I’m learning and fast too. Number 4 got me though… consistency may turn out to be my biggest challenge 🤔

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Consistency is very hard and writing materials regularly enough to post. I’ve returned today after a break and one thing I can tell you is to. Spend a day writing a few blog posts. Have them all edited and schedule them to post at your convenience. That way your blog is posting consistently even if your to busy to work on it. 😘

        Like

    Leave a Reply

    