Why I avoid house guests ✋🚫

image

Hey everyone,
Today is another one of my honest posts regarding my reasons for not oftenly inviting friends and family to my home.

Disclaimer
This post is for entertainment purposes, it is not in place to cause offence to my loved ones or friends I may meet in the future. Some points may have been slightly exaggerated… Happy reading and I hope it’s a good laugh..

They say honestly is the best policy! Now don’t get me wrong…. I love my friends and family but I don’t necessarily like my friends and family in my house.

Here’s why…
1I don’t want to have to clean up for you
Now I’m not saying my house is a mess but c’mon, whenever you have guest u naturally spruce up the house pending their arrival. Wipe down the sofa’s, clean the sh*t stains off the toilet bowl, (don’t act like you do it straight after every child has done a poo) I certainly don’t, I have 3 kids! The amont of pooping going on in my house is crazy. I’m constantly knee deep in sh*t. The toilet brush comes after bed time. Simple.
I’m constantly hoovering but with guests you have to hoover and mop and clean the bathroom spotless, but this time; pay more attention to that brown streak that just appeared on my pearl white walls after amzah pooped. Oh yes!! He went there…
So no..I don’t want to clean up because your coming, nor do I want you saying…. “It’s fine, you have 3 kids. What do you expect?”
This is after I’ve apologised for the mess, after I secrectly just spent the past 2 hours frantically cleaning. Like the cheek! Clearly my efforts have gone unnoticed. I rather you say, “Your home looks fine” instead of agree that it’s messy by saying “Its fine”. Like yhh..I’m offended, cleaning this place took ages!
#justsaying

2. I don’t want to give a house tour nor do I want you entering rooms I never put you in.
Now I have a thing about guest wanting house tours…. when you arrived, I walked you to the living room… not the kitchen, not the dining room and certainly not my bedroom. So if thats where I placed you that’s where I expect you to stay when you come, with the bathroom as an exception. I’m not the house tour type of host, so it’s quite unlikely that I’m going to show you anything, and if I do then I’m sleep deprived and high on speed!

3. There’s always and aroma of sh*t
Like I said, my kids poo and fart a lot! Now we all know this is natural but I don’t necessarily feel comfortable when Amzah brings his potty into the middle of the living room and takes the biggest most gut wrenching sh*t whilst I’m mid conversation with my friend and then he wants applause. To be honest it actually makes me feel awkward. Then I have to wipe him, dispose of it and start frantically opening windows, all whist maintaining a conversation and pretending the living room don’t stink!

4. Offering food and drink
I’m a mum on a budget, I’m not broke nor do I intend to be due to having visitors around. When I buy snacks and drinks I have a rule… open one at a time.. so yes there is always variety in my house but trust me…if the Robinson is open don’t be eyeballing my Ribena or my orange juice… I didn’t offer that to you…Oh and finally. Don’t waste what I have given you. If I pour you a drink…bloody drink it! Don’t waste my drinks or you might find I offer you tap water next time. Some will say it’s not that deep… I feel different… that Ribena cost me £3.75 you have just wasted about 40p.  40p worth of Ribena I could have drank. (I love Ribena)

5.  Guest Status
All visitors have a status in my house.. it’s called being a Guest which means you are waited on so I’d find it bloody cheeky if one of my guests went in my kitchen and had a rummage through my fridge or cupboards without out my permission, which I would never give! I wouldn’t even let my own mother do it. Seriously.

Soo, those are my reasons why I don’t have visitors often, because I’m fussy and a terrible host. Anyone who knows me knows I meet for lunches and dinners in cafes and restaurants; even with the kids. Every once in a while I send out invitations to my home but it’s very rare as I find hosting to be overwhelming and exhausting and to be honest I don’t want to offend you by my rules and regulations.

I hope you enjoyed this post! Don’t forget to like, comment and of course follow for more.

-Leah and The Rosebuds.

19 Comments Add yours

  1. Thanks for making me laugh this morning , great post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. doriandean says:

    HA! This is great, and really… it is very much like my own mentality as well. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Asahela says:

      lmao great to know I’m not alone hahahah! thanks for reading x

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ha love it! I’m exactly the same. It’s the inlaws that think I’m their servant. After they’ve rocked up unannounced. Sorry no they’ll be lucky if I open door and not hide hahaah

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Asahela says:

      Lmao! I’m sure they’d have a bit to say if you left them outside!!! It’s hard with in laws because you can’t really say exactly how you feel without causing offence. Thanks for reading hun x

      Like

  4. erhynireh says:

    Haha! I can relate. I’m a mother of four children, my house is always in a mess. I know exactly where you’re coming from and we have the same exact reason why we avoid house guests. And thank you for making me laugh.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The Cool Mom says:

    Yes! Especially #2. My mother in law does this all the time…. Lady this is not your house! Especially the bedroom. Like, do you know what we do in here? Why do you want to be all up in here? Haha great post.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Suzette says:

    I love your sense of humour!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Asahela says:

      Aww thanks suzette I’m glad you enjoyed x

      Like

  7. DidasVoice says:

    OMG hilarious! I feel the same.
    When you said I’ve been cleaning for the last two hours and they agree about the house being messy. This used to happen to me even before having children. Am a messy woman 🙈

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Asahela says:

      Lol glad you enjoyed ! Thanks for reading x

      Like

  8. Sophie says:

    Love this post! It’s exactly how I am

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Great job!!! Thank you for visiting my blog and liking my post.You Rock!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Brisa Simmons says:

    Haha this is awesome! I could have written this post myself. We have a small one bedroom house, so that also explains a lot of why I do not like people coming over. My husband has a big family also, so any time they come over, there isn’t enough room for anybody to sit, and I’m usually in the kitchen cleaning or doing dishes or doing something else productive. I get angry when my husband invites people over…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Asahela says:

      Lol thanks! My partner has a tendency of having friends round when the house is in the worst possible state and it’s soo bad. I’ll wake up in the middle of the night and find him and a friend in the living room with toys and mess everywhere and it’s soo embarrassing x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Brisa Simmons says:

        LOL 🙂

        Like

  11. This is the beauty of truth .. love this 😂😂

    Like

  12. I burst out into laughter reading this. I relate to EVERY SINGLE ONE of your reasons. Growing up this was my mother and now me as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

